Ann Sheridan – Chair

Ann is a Associate Professor in mental health nursing in the School of Nursing, Midwifery and Health Systems in UCD. She is also a registered psychiatric nurse, registered general nurse and registered nurse teacher.  She has a first class honours degree in Nursing Studies from UCD, a first class Master’s Degree in Education, also from UCD and a PhD completed at the University of Birmingham, UK. In her role in UCD, Ann is focused on both education at undergraduate and postgraduate level and research. Her primary research interest in is mental health, with a particular emphasis on those with enduring mental health difficulties. She has been involved in a range of other research and scholarly activities including older people’s attendance at emergency departments, Cochrane systematic review of nurse staffing models; developing an inter-professional education module in health sciences, as well as working in close collaboration with health services partners.

Adrienne Adams – Vice-Chair

Teresa Tuohy – Secretary

Rose Bennett – Treasurer

Siobhán Smyth – Newsletter Editor

Siobhán is a lecturer in the School of Nursing and Midwifery, at the National University of Ireland, Galway. Her principal teaching and research interests are in the areas of mental health nursing, clinical supervision, research methodologies, psychosocial interventions and enquiry/problem based learning. She is chair of the mental health research cluster at NUIG and is currently doing her PhD in the area of ‘Psychosocial Interventions’ at Trinity College, Dublin. She is a scholar of the European Academy of Nursing Science.

Louise Doyle – Student Affairs

Mark Monahan – Webmaster

Committee Members:

Agnes Higgins

Harry Gijbels

Liam Mac Gabhann

Adrienne Adams

Siobhan Russell

Moira O’Donovan

Aisling Culhane

Brendan Power

Louise Murphy

Coleman Noctor